Eligible impairment types: 

  • Impaired muscle power
  • Impaired passive range of movement
  • Limb deficiency
  • Leg length difference
  • Athetosis
  • Hypertonia
  • Ataxia
  • Short stature

Sport class

There is only one sport class in powerlifting, but the athletes compete in different weight categories just like their able-bodied counterparts in weightlifting.

Powerlifting is open to athletes with all eight eligible physical impairments. All athletes have an impairment in their lower limbs or hips, which would prohibit them from competing in able-bodied (standing) weightlifting. In Powerlifting, they therefore compete in bench press. Athletes with leg amputations above the ankle or stiffness of the knee joint would, for example, are eligible to compete.

Aside from classification, there are some sport-technical rules regarding safety that require the classifiers to also verify e.g. a safe grip of the lifting bar and the ability of the athlete to extend the upper limb in full. Failure to do so will lead to exclusion from the sport for safety reasons.