Eligible impairment types: 

  • Impaired muscle power
  • Impaired passive range of movement
  • Limb deficiency
  • Leg length difference
  • Athetosis
  • Hypertonia
  • Ataxia
  • Short stature

Sport classes 

There are two sport classes in wheelchair tennis and all players have in common that they have an impairment that affects their legs.

Open class

This sport class is designated for athletes, who have a significant and permanent impairment of one or both legs and normal arm function. This profile may match with athletes with paraplegia or leg amputations, for example.

Quad class

Players in this class have an impairment affecting their playing arm as well as their legs. This limits their ability to handle the racket and to move in the wheelchair. You will find that players may use tape to securely grip the racket.